4

Ice Fishing

So first and foremost Becky said that it is my duty to update the blog for a couple of reasons..

1. It needs class. Let's face it with an average of 6 blogs per LDS family you need some substance...none of this "oh I love Britney's new music video look at it on youtube" buisness. More like rednecks fishing on a piece of ice type class.


2. It was updated forever ago. I mean we don't have terribly exciting lives, but we could post something right?

3. I kept bugging her to post something which resulted in a couple spats and now here I am writing it.

So here is my first post to our blog and I must say based on my personal journal writing habits I might do this once a year. On to the ice fishing.

This last Saturday the Elders Quorm had an ice fishing activity. For all those, who for some reason dont understand the concept, ice fishing consists of being cold, cutting a hole in a frozen lake, frost bite, and hopefully catching some fish. Well on our way up to the adventure the car I was traveling in hit some ice and we hit the guard rail at about 55 mph. No major injuries, but the air bags got the front passengers pretty good and so it took some time to figure out what to do. Long story short it started the day with a hiccup.

The destination was Strawberry Reservoir, which is about 1.5 hours from provo. When we go there it looked like a frozen wasteland. The bishop brought some snowmobiles so it was easy getting out to his favorite spot. Just to make a short mention here Bishop Brown is the man. He does it all and is pretty much davy crocket minus the coon skin hat. Anyways we cut through the ice and wouldn't you know it... the ice was like 2 feet thick ( a little comforting considering we just drove out there on 1000 lb snowmobiles) . The fishing was a little slow, but we had a bunch of laughs. We caught 3 fish and had 5 total on our lines so the day wasn't a total bust. Luckily I caught a 3 pounder so it made the day worth it for me. For that reason alone I could probably go icefishing again. One thing we forgot though was sunscreen so I got a really nice beanie burn and so did everyone else that went along. We looked pretty stupid at church the next day to say the least. For dinner Sunday Becky cooked the fish and it tasted fantastic...almost like salmon.


Overall it was a blast, and I could maybe do it again... and to be honest it was a warmer day up there so I never even got cold...just sunburned.
3

Halloween

Halloween ended up being really fun and because CHase and I hadn't dressed up for like 5 years we thought it would be a fun activity! Chase obviously dressed up as a gangster midget...
I dressed up as a zombie bride.
We went to a Halloween party, crashed the freshmen Heritage party for a few minutes to see Noelle, and went to Cameron and Mitzi's for a movie. Here's a pic of Noelle and Chase, both being gangsters.
The next day we dressed up again and went to our ward party. I got an honorable mention for scariest, and Chase won for funniest costume! All in all, it was a good Halloween.

Loading image

Click anywhere to cancel

Image unavailable

1

Visit from my family

My family came up to Utah a few weeks ago and it was great to see them! Noelle and I hung out with our family Wednesday for lunch, then Aubrey came back to my apartment with me while my mom, Colin, and Yeong-Hye hiked the Y. It was my mom's first time! Aubrey is getting so old, its crazy. We walked from campus to my apartment (about 4 blocks) and she chattered the whole way and we actually had real conversation. She made me scrounge up every toy in my apartment (about 6) and I had to read a book I gave her 5 times. She may be demanding, but she's so cute! Friday after we all went to the homecoming spectacular we came back to my apartment again and I had to go around to ask my neighbors to borrow some cards so we could play scum, and Aubrey insisted on coming door to door with me :) It was a fun few days and we can't wait to see them over Thanksgiving!
2

5 Interesting Things About Me

Dani tagged me in her blog, so here are 5 interesting things about me :)

I have a blanket (actually a fabric) that I take with me everywhere. Church, school, movies, you name it.

I got married on my 20th Birthday! Yay for May 3rd!

I love crossword puzzles and I bought this book this summer and I just finished it :( Sad day.

I go to school with my sister and we have a class together. It's fun.

I've kissed a dolphin! Luckily it was a male, unlucky for Colin, haha.

Now I tag Nicole, Shalon and Mitzi!
1

Weezer

So last night Chase and I went to a Weezer concert up in Salt Lake City. They've been my favorite band for a long time and I have never seen them in concert before, and they're getting up there in years so I was worried I would never get to see them live. Well let me just say that last night was officially AMAZING. We got there at 7:30 and some lame band came out first, then Angels and Airwaves came out. They were pretty good and I'm glad we got to see them. Well after they left my heart started beating really fast because I was so excited to see Weezer in person! They finally came out and their whole set was awesome! First Chase and I were laughing because the whole band was wearing these white jumpsuits and Rivers had this white stocking-thing on his head! Then he had a mini-trampoline on stage and he jumped on that for awhile. Well then they started singing Perfect Situation and I was jumping up and down so excited that I started crying a little bit! Chase was laughing at me and told me I should calm down or I would be one of "those girls" at NSync concerts that cries when the band comes out, but I couldn't help it! (My eyes only got a little watery...) Well they took off their white jumpsuits and they had on all matching red tracksuits that said Weezer on the back. Then they starting singing Say It Ain't So and I thought I could die happy. All in all there was a lot of screaming on my part, laughing between Chase and I, singing along, and a few tears. We laughed a lot at the way Rivers was on stage. He walked around taking really small steps and every once in a while he would sort of hop and kick his legs back. Also when he wasn't playing the guitar or drums he would shake his hands back and forth like he had parkinson's disease... Chase called him a "weirdy," haha. They told some mildly amusing anecdotes and at one time Pat (the drummer) came down to sing and play guitar for a song and he said "I have also been to Salt Lake City before, and I went to the Salt Lake, and it was very salty. As I ventured forth into the lake, I lost my shoe, and I am sure it is still there. So thank you Salt Lake, for stealing my shoe." Ohhh Weezer. Some other highlights were when Rivers asked Tom (old lead singer for Blink 182, now lead singer for Angels and Airwaves) to come back on stage and sing The Sweater Song with them. Another when Rivers yelled, "If you can hear me yell 'Heck Ya!'" Also at the end of the show when they had about 30 Weezer fans come on stage and jam with them. The fans were playing a great variety of insturments including saxaphones, tubas, violins, cellos, that mouth insturment that make the twangy "boinging" sound, and a penny flute. It didn't sound perfect, but it was such an amazing concert expierence. I read a review somewhere of a weezer concert and the guy said that the show wasn't particularly amazing, and Rivers had some weird quirks, and they didn't banter with the crowd much, but it didn't matter because the fans of Weezer were so happy to see them and sing along that they pulled off an amazing show. I totally agree with that :)
2

I couldn't help myself...

Try JibJab Sendables® eCards today!
3

Sweet Vid.

Try JibJab Sendables® eCards today!